Thoughts On The Deadly Seven – 2: Pride

Pride (which in latin is the magnificent word “superbia“) is considered the original and most serious of the seven deadly sins, because it is the source of all the others.

You may not have noticed, but I have an abundance of Pride. I am proud. I am prideful.

Pride in my sub and her achievements in her life, both before she met me and since she first offered her submission to me.

I am proud of her progress with me, how much she’s learned, how eagerly she’s learned it and her dedication to her journey. I’m proud of how she submits, and when she gives me one of the sacred acts of submission, I am filled to bursting with pride.

But I’m proud not just that she chooses to submit, but also that she chooses to submit to me. Her devotion inspires greater and greater effort from me, an effort that I’m proud to offer. My Dominance of her, the manner in which I dominate her is also something I’m proud of. The way I care for her, the way she responds to that care, the way that has enabled my part in her growth and successes.

Is this boasting? Does this prideful splurge make you feel I’m arrogant? Perhaps. Do I have any right to feel so proud? This whole blog tells you what I’m like, what she’s like, what we’re like together and whether that boast is warranted. But perhaps it’s fair enough to feel a little put back reading such a raw statement of pride. I wouldn’t usually say all this so starkly, of course, and perhaps that’s the real sin: not pride, but boastfulness.

On the other hand, my sub deserves to know how proud I am of her, and that such an unselfconscious statement of pride in her doesn’t make me feel awkward or uncomfortable at all. I have a lot to be proud of in her. I hope every Dom would feel the same about their sub.

Verdict: Guilty, and I don’t care who knows it.


All of The Deadly Seven

© Charles Rochester 2016

One thought on “Thoughts On The Deadly Seven – 2: Pride

  1. Pingback: Sinful Sunday 25 – Ablative | Filth & Erotica

Leave a Reply

